Wine Grape Productivity Tray

Productivity Tray Information

2016 Winner

The 2016 Productivity Tray recipient was Jim Law, owner and winemaker of Linden Vineyards. He is recognized internationally, nationally, and locally for his ongoing contributions to the crafting of excellent wines on the
East Coast. He was an early pioneer in bringing top quality vinifera wine to Virginia, beginning in the early 1980’s. Jim has mentored and even employed a large number of people who have gone on to become winery owners, viticulturalists, and winemakers at many of Virginia’s leading wineries. He and his crew at Linden are constantly experimenting with viticultural and winemaking techniques to bring out the best from the terroir at their vineyard site.

2013 Winner

In 1984, the Wine Grape Productivity Tray was acquired from Sheffield Company. The tray, which measures 30 inches in length by 19-1/2 inches in width, is silver-plated and produced in the design of a classic champagne serving tray with a full border of bas-relief grape and vine patterns. The logo of the Vinifera Wine Growers Association, precursor to the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association, now incorporated into the ASWA’s logo, is engraved in the center of the tray.

Since 1984, the tray has been presented to an individual or organization that has made major contributions to the sustainable growth and economic viability of the American wine industry, including professional consulting, innovation, technical research and knowledge, as well as leadership and active support.

The tray has traveled and has been displayed across the United States, from Virginia to North Carolina and Alabama, up to Maryland, Pennsylvania and New York, and round-tripping to California.

Each of the now 30 distinguished recipients have had their individual or organizational name hand-engraved on the back of the tray.

Productivity Tray Winners

Making the presentation to Curtis Coleburn, Chief Operating Officer of the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (center), were TTB Administrator John Manfreda (left), the 2012 recipient of the Wine Grape Productivity Tray, and President of the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Association, Mr. Carl Brandhorst (right) , with ASWA President Emeritus, Gordon Murchie (far left) reading the citation.

A member of the Virginia ABC since 1994, Curtis Coleburn was appointed the Chief Operating Officer of the ABC in 1999. With membership in the Virginia Bar Association, Coleburn came to the ABC with a distinguished background in various positions in the state’s law enforcement and related legal services. He is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Virginia ABC.

With a professional and personal interest, Coleburn has participated in activities that support the Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth and the state’s Substance Abuse Services Council. For the Virginia wine industry, Coleburn has provided a cooperative and positive communications link between the ABC and the wine industry, offering valuable advice and counsel.

To better understand the relationship between the ABC as the state’s regulatory and compliance element and the wine industry, one of the ABC’s clients, Coleburn has participated in many state and federal wine related meetings with members of Virginia and other state’s wine industry personnel. Coleburn has become a qualified wine judge, and has participated in the Atlantic Seaboard Wine Competition for the past seven years. He believes that good administrators need to know and understand their clients, which they are officially responsible to serve.

2016Jim Law, Winemaker - Linden Vineyards
2015N.C. Wine
2013Curtis Coleburn Chief Operating Officer, Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
2012John Manfreda, Administrator, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB)
2011Thomas J. Payette, Winemaking Consultant, Virginia
2010David McIntyre, The Washington Post Wine Columnist
2009Lucie T. Morton, Viticulturist, Broad Run, Virginia
2008Kevin Atticks, Executive Director, Maryland Wineries Association
2007Regency at Dominion Valley Country Club, Heritage Hunt & Stonewall Golf and Country Clubs for support of the Atlantic Seaboard Competitions
2006R. Fletcher Good, IV, North Carolina, for his support in the development of the Yadkin Valley viticulture region
2005Virginia Foundation for Agriculture in the Classroom
2004Center for Wine & Cardiovascular Health, University Alabama, Represented by Dr. Francois M. Booyse, Director
2003Lansdowne Resort, Leesburg, Virginia, Mary Watson-Delauder, Resort Sommelier
2002New York State Agricultural Experiment Station at Geneva, New York, Timothy Martinson, Representative
2001Douglas P. Moorhead, Presque Isle Wine Cellars, Pennsylvania
2000Dr. G. Hamilton Mowbray, Viticulturist, Enologist, Wine Educator, Maryland
1999Alan LeBlanc-Kinne, Winery Consulting Services, Inc., Virginia
1998Dr. Tony K. Wolf, VPI, Virginia
1997Wine East Magazine, Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1996Jacques A. Recht, Enologist & Virginia Wine Industry Pioneer
1995Frederick T. Dykes, Commissioner, Virginia ABC Board
1994Women for WineSense, California
1993 Dr. Bruce Zoecklein, VPI, Virginia
1992Willard Scott, WMAL
1991Senator John W. Warner, Middleburg, Virginia
1990Annette Ringwood, Richmond, Virginia
1989Peter Hatch, Monticello, Virginia
1988The Williamsburg Winery, Williamsburg, Virginia
1987Hubert L. Tucker, Waterford, Virginia
1986Dr. Jacques A. Recht, Oak Grove, Virginia
1985Francis Sargent, Edinburg, Virginia
1984Joachim O. Hollerith, Madison, Virginia